Standing at the head of Loch Awe on what is today a low, rocky mound, but which, in medieval times, was an island, Kilchurn Castle was built, probably, around 1440 by Margaret, wife of Sir Colin Campbell, first Laird of Glenurquhay.
The fabric of the Castle is in unusually good order and access is by a ½ mile walk on a rough path. The scale of the construction is vast and extremely interesting. Historic Scotland have built access stairs and it is possible to climb to the highest towers from where the views are breathtaking. It is open every day and until 9pm in the summer. It is also possible to visit the Castle in summer by boat from Loch Awe station.
Kilchurn has a four-storey tower built in the mid 15th century by Sir Colin Campbell, 1st of Glenorchy. Much enlarged in 1693, it incorporates the first purpose-built barracks in Scotland.
The substantial ruins are some of the most picturesque in the country with spectacular views down Loch Awe. The loch is important for waterfowl and a large pike
The castle is open in the summer only (April to September)
The castle can be accessed on foot from the Dalmally roadside (A85) under the nearby railway viaduct. This is via the loch-side, which can flood periodically, so caution is advised.
There are no ratings recorded.